Kickstarter and Solutionaries

If you haven’t seen Kickstarter, it’s a great example of the kind of “Solutionaries” that Zoe Weil talked about in her TED talk.  It’s also a great example  of how collaborative media is making things possible that used to be done through large grantors and big business.  It’s grass roots.  And so is this example, about a green space in NY’s Lower East Side:   http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/855802805/lowline-an-underground-park-on-nycs-lower-east-sid

I also want to put this on my list of examples of how technology can make it possible for us to be closer together, dispelling a popular myth I hear often that technology makes us sit unfeelingly in front of our computers not interacting with the rest of the world, losing our humanity, etc.  It’s not that simple.  And like many things, “it’s in the way that you use it!”

Thanks to Kathleen, who posted the Kickstarter link on Facebook and got me thinking about all this …

About Paula Montrie

I am a Middle School Librarian at Friends School of Baltimore. I have been a librarian for 11 years, serving 6 years with the Howard County Public School System before arriving at my current school. I teach two classes: SpeechCraft (a combination of information literacy, public speaking and theater), and Media Literacy at the middle school level. I also collaboratively co-teach with a number of teachers at the school, including Music, Geography, and U.S. History. I love it! My professional interests are: information literacy, multiple intelligences and learning styles, teaching through movement, curriculum-writing, technology integration, and bridging the gap between digital natives and digital immigrants. My personal interests are: dancing, singing, knitting, sewing, art, living history, writing and of course - reading!
This entry was posted in Collaboration, Creativity, Curiosity, Information Structure and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

