Ode to my Tablet

tablet

Just a few things I love about my tablet, after living with it for 8 months now:

  • I love that when I arrive in the morning, I’m not attached to my desk, which is behind a wall, a door and out of view of even the people I work the most closely with.
  • I love that I can walk around among my students and be with them while they work, not chained to the front of the room, or my “position of power.”  (There’s a concept – how does a “position of power” put you in chains?)
  • I love that when someone stops me in the hall I can make a note of what we’ve talked about right away, even put it directly only my “to do” list, without worrying about whether or not I’ll remember it later.  It lets me be truly present when I’m talking to others.
  • I love that I can write down my thoughts, not type them, because I know that I process information better when I write it myself (and have learned that research backs this up).
  • I love that I can keep a page on each student handy in One Note, so that I can write down how they’re doing as I circulate among them, and when progress report time comes, I can cut and paste the information into their reports.
  • I love that I don’t have to ask students to come to me for check-ins, interrupting the work they’re doing when they’re on a roll – I can come to them.  (Don’t worry – I give them lots of other opportunities to move around!)
  • I love that I always have the equivalent of a binder, pencil, highlighter, calendar, to-do list – and university library – with me wherever I go.
About Paula Montrie

I am a Middle School Librarian at Friends School of Baltimore. I have been a librarian for 11 years, serving 6 years with the Howard County Public School System before arriving at my current school. I teach two classes: SpeechCraft (a combination of information literacy, public speaking and theater), and Media Literacy at the middle school level. I also collaboratively co-teach with a number of teachers at the school, including Music, Geography, and U.S. History. I love it! My professional interests are: information literacy, multiple intelligences and learning styles, teaching through movement, curriculum-writing, technology integration, and bridging the gap between digital natives and digital immigrants. My personal interests are: dancing, singing, knitting, sewing, art, living history, writing and of course - reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ode to my Tablet

  1. Anonymous says:

    I totally agree!
    I also love using the shared notebooks for meetings and collaboration with other faculty members. Notebook 2010 lets you see the initials of the person adding additon information.

    Today 4th graders were using the tablets as an easal instead of swiveling, closing, and reorienting. I want them to experience many ways of using the tablet and decide for themselves waht works for them. I introduced the input panel to third graders today, and they loved it.

Leave a Reply

