Kaizen v. Perfectionism

I’ve just read about the concept of “kaizen” in Angela Maier’s “White Paper on Student Engagement.”  Here’s what she has to say:

“Kaizen: Kaizen is the Japanese term for “continuous improvement”, a concept we should take to heart if we want students to achieve their personal and professional best. Small changes, if done every day,can make a big impact over time.”  Angela Maiers

I’ve thought about this recently because our Physical Education classes have been in reading about the Presidential Fitness standards.  I talked to their teacher, and he said that he is going to have them learn about the standards, then they will take the assessments to see where they are physically on those standards, then over the course of 12 weeks, they will also research what they can do to incrementally improve toward meeting those standards.

Now, when I was in Middle School taking the Presidential Fitness assessments, I was basically told.  “Oh, you have no upper body strength.”  Period.  The point was that I didn’t meet the standard and there was no use in trying to improve.  My 12-year-old interpretation?  – I couldn’t be “perfect,” so why try?  It simply never occurred to me that although I might not meet or exceed the standards, I could at least work to be better than I was that day.  And that this would be good for my health, confidence, and personal well-being.

I love that our school’s Physical Education Department is so different from what I grew up with, and that they are giving our students the gift of experiencing Kaizen. You may not be a top athlete, but you can certainly spend each day improving a little more toward your own personal wellness goals.  Physical Education is so important in fostering this resilience not only in health, but in life attitudes as well.  We can always be a little better than we are today.  Kudos to School Athletics!
About Paula Montrie

I am a Middle School Librarian at Friends School of Baltimore. I have been a librarian for 11 years, serving 6 years with the Howard County Public School System before arriving at my current school. I teach two classes: SpeechCraft (a combination of information literacy, public speaking and theater), and Media Literacy at the middle school level. I also collaboratively co-teach with a number of teachers at the school, including Music, Geography, and U.S. History. I love it! My professional interests are: information literacy, multiple intelligences and learning styles, teaching through movement, curriculum-writing, technology integration, and bridging the gap between digital natives and digital immigrants. My personal interests are: dancing, singing, knitting, sewing, art, living history, writing and of course - reading!
This entry was posted in Resilience and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kaizen v. Perfectionism

  1. Pingback: Kaizen — Saturday Weekly Reports : Week #46 Updates | Journeyman Journeys ™

Leave a Reply

