Class Policies (prettified in Glogster)

I wrote out my class policies in Moodle, and even I was uninspired by the text-heavy list.  I tried putting the important words in pretty colors.  Still too blah.  Then I used Glogster EDU:

Much better!!

About Paula Montrie

I am a Middle School Librarian at Friends School of Baltimore. I have been a librarian for 11 years, serving 6 years with the Howard County Public School System before arriving at my current school. I teach two classes: SpeechCraft (a combination of information literacy, public speaking and theater), and Media Literacy at the middle school level. I also collaboratively co-teach with a number of teachers at the school, including Music, Geography, and U.S. History. I love it! My professional interests are: information literacy, multiple intelligences and learning styles, teaching through movement, curriculum-writing, technology integration, and bridging the gap between digital natives and digital immigrants. My personal interests are: dancing, singing, knitting, sewing, art, living history, writing and of course - reading!
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Class Policies (prettified in Glogster)

  1. Laura says:

    Hi, Paula! I’m a member of the blog alliance, and I’ve been reading your blog all this time without realizing we are neighbors! I’m in MD, too! Love your glog- I’m a big fan of Glogster EDU and always looking for more ways to use it. Thanks!

  2. Paula Montrie says:

    Hi, neighbor! I’m in Baltimore, but I used to teach in Howard County. What’s it like being a DEN educator?

  3. Hi Paula, I’m interested in your adventurer’s club setup. I don’t grade homework but I do give largely optional homework such as blogging or watching a youtube video, responding to blog posts, etc. I’m intrigued by the concept of an adventurer’s club.

    • Paula Montrie says:

      Hi Damianne,
      My class presents a challenge because it meets once per week, at the end of the day, and is not graded. So I set up the Adventurer’s Club – based on some Facebook games I’ve seen (Pirates, Mafia Wars). There are five “levels” for students to work through – each level has tasks with points attached (some of the tasks are designed to be done with parents for some generational education exchange). As students do the tasks (games and reflections based on what we’re doing in class), they gain “objects” to collect, which they can trade with other students. (The objects are pictures that are displayed on their scorecard). It keeps them motivated and up-to-date if they miss the class, which is often because of early dismissals for sports.

      If you want to know more, I’m going to email my email to you.

      Cheers,
      Paula

  4. ktenkely says:

    What a great idea! This is definitely easier on the eyes 🙂

Leave a Reply

