New Blog Design – A Learning Experience

At last I have a blog design that reflects who I am! Thanks to the family and friends who helped me purchase the new SLR camera, and to Tara Frey’s Book Blogging for Bliss, I have been experimenting with photography and PhotoShop to up my design skills.

This summer, as I have been teaching an online Web 2.0 course (with blogging at its core) I have also spent some time trying to improve my own blogging skills.  Motivation is so key when you are going beyond the basics, but I am here to say that it is worth the effort (and that includes discovering that I misspelled the title of one of my blog headers after I had carefully finalized it in PhotoShop!).  I have so much more to learn, but I feel satisfied and ready to walk anyone through the process of personalizing their own blogs.

Of course, if you have more resources or ideas to share with me about blog design, please put then forward!

About Paula Montrie

I am a Middle School Librarian at Friends School of Baltimore. I have been a librarian for 11 years, serving 6 years with the Howard County Public School System before arriving at my current school. I teach two classes: SpeechCraft (a combination of information literacy, public speaking and theater), and Media Literacy at the middle school level. I also collaboratively co-teach with a number of teachers at the school, including Music, Geography, and U.S. History. I love it! My professional interests are: information literacy, multiple intelligences and learning styles, teaching through movement, curriculum-writing, technology integration, and bridging the gap between digital natives and digital immigrants. My personal interests are: dancing, singing, knitting, sewing, art, living history, writing and of course - reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Blog Design – A Learning Experience

  1. Frank Baker says:

    What book, syllabus or other resources are you using in your media literacy course? I maintain the Media Literacy Clearinghouse site (www.frankwbaker.com) which be of use to you and your students. Good luck.

  2. Frank Baker says:

    What book, syllabus or other resources are you using in your media literacy course? I maintain the Media Literacy Clearinghouse site (www.frankwbaker.com) which may be of use to you and your students. Good luck.

  3. Paula Montrie says:

    Hi Frank,

    I use some stuff from the New Mexico Media Literacy Project, some sections of the book “Predictably Irrational” by Dan Aierly, and some things I’ve found and put together from the Internet. I particularly like this one: http://demo.fb.se/e/girlpower/retouch/

    I like your site too! I will definitely be looking through your great resources!

    Thanks for your post!

    Paula

  4. ktenkely says:

    Great redesign! I think we all go through those times of growing and changing in our blogging. Hope you have had a wonderful summer!

Leave a Reply

