Shelf Life

We kicked off our new Alternate Reality Reading Game last week with this video teaser.

The game will be played for 8 weeks, with several faculty serving as “operatives” and contacts for the students, while others *may* be less trustworthy!  You can always trust our Librarians, though, and they are willing to go “behind the curtain” if you need guidance along the way.   The game uses a locked-down Edmodo site (which parents are welcome to join – just ask your student for the “parent code” listed on the site) to communicate with student agents and provide feedback, and we are also using our Middle School Library Blog to distribute clues.

The game will end with an evening event at the school, which will be like a high-tech treasure hunt.

We have 26 gamers enrolled at the moment, and hopefully more will follow.

We’ll keep you posted!

About Paula Montrie

I am a Middle School Librarian at Friends School of Baltimore. I have been a librarian for 11 years, serving 6 years with the Howard County Public School System before arriving at my current school. I teach two classes: SpeechCraft (a combination of information literacy, public speaking and theater), and Media Literacy at the middle school level. I also collaboratively co-teach with a number of teachers at the school, including Music, Geography, and U.S. History. I love it! My professional interests are: information literacy, multiple intelligences and learning styles, teaching through movement, curriculum-writing, technology integration, and bridging the gap between digital natives and digital immigrants. My personal interests are: dancing, singing, knitting, sewing, art, living history, writing and of course - reading!
This entry was posted in Books, Game Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shelf Life

  1. liddonz says:

    This sounds so interesting. I would love to hear more about it and how the whole thing is set up and run.

  2. Thanks for your comment and encouragement, liddonz. I’ll keep posting about the progress. We have already had ups and downs. We had over thirty people enter, then many got lost on the first round – now we have a resurgence. I am constantly tweaking the process as we play, because I’m learning what my particular players can handle and what both their skill and motivation levels are. I’m remaining flexible. I think I’m going to have a lot to say once this is over. I am enjoying it and learning as much as the players.

Leave a Reply

